We kicked off Wednesday’s webinar with each of the panelists sharing  a quote which describes their approach to innovation or which  was inspired by an innovation challenge in their career. Here are the panelists quotes:

Competence is the enemy of change, look to the incompetent for innovation – Martin Korn

  • An expert can be blind to the opportunity to improve things.

Sometimes it better to seek forgiveness rather than get permission – Jean O’Grady

  • if you think you are right – have the courage to proceed even when others try to obstruct change.

A problem well stated is a problem half solved – Stacy Pangilinan

  • Technology isn’t the answer to every problem. You have to define the problem first  before you can explore a solution

Disrupt or be disrupted Emily Rushing

  • Don’t wait to be asked – push your skills and expertise out to other departments. Every department has a taxonomy challenge and librarians are the original taxonomists – find a “side hustle.”
PLLIP has posted the webinar.
Start It or Stop It? Jump Starting Initiatives and Innovation in 2019Description:

Listen in on a lively conversation that will help you jump start your new year! Since 2013, Jean O’Grady has been conducting a Start Stop survey via her blog, Dewey B Strategic. As a prequel to the 2019 survey, Jean will be facilitating a panel discussion on the topic of new initiatives in the new year, including ways to remove obstacles and begin implementation. Gain wisdom from your colleagues as they disclose tactics for developing and executing new ideas, getting buy-in, etc., and be inspired as they share about some of the exciting new initiatives they’ve recently undertaken.


Jean O’Grady, Director of Information Services, DLA Piper


Martin Korn, Director of Research & Knowledge Services, Sheppard Mullin

Stacy Pangilinan, Digital Services Manager, DLA Piper

Emily Rushing, Competitive Intelligence Manager, Haynes & Boone

Lindsey Carpino lcarpino@sidley.com and Denise Pagh dpagh@orrick.com
Education and Professional Development Committee Co-Chairs